18 C
Friday, October 20, 2017

The southern Province of Malaga is one of eight provinces in Andalucia, Southern Spain. It is the usual point of entry into Andalucia if arriving by plane. The province is itself divided into six comarcas/departments as shown below. Each of these 6 areas is further broken down into municipalities which represent the main towns and villages – for details on these areas see the bottom of the page.

Comarcas of Malaga
Comarcas of Malaga Province

Malaga Province
Malaga Province

The The city of Malaga is the second largest in Andalucia and is one of the most vibrant. It is often ignored by visitors who slip straight off from the airport to the resort towns, but it is well worth investigating. Sun and sand are the main reason why thousands flock to the province each year. More than three quarters of all visitors come here with these two points in mind. The Costa del Sol benefits enormously from a marvellous climate that rarely reaches extremes. Warm summers and mild winters make this the ideal destination for enjoying a dip in the sea, especially as the benign climate also keeps the waters of the Mediterranean at just the right temperature. On the Malaga coast tiny, secluded coves rub shoulders with vast beaches.
The Costa del Sol tourism sector, aware of the potential of its beaches, has succeeded in taking full advantage of them, offering bathers a wide range of alternative facilities and services. Tourists can choose to relax, enjoy a broad spectrum of different water sports or sample the area´s culinary delights in the numerous beach restaurants found along the sands of the province.

Few places in the world can boast such contrasting landscapes as mountains and beaches side by side. Malaga City, the province´s capital, is one such privileged location with beaches that lie close to the city centre, some of which have been integrated into the urban structure itself.

The coastal towns of the province are described in our Costa del Sol section but, with its mountainous interior, this province is much more than its infamous coastline. For those who are prepared to travel inland a little, the area of Axarquia is full of small white villages of Muslim origin, each with thier own character and history. Axarquia is also home to Malaga´s primary fishing town and harbour at Caleta de Velez. There are many other areas of incredible natural beauty, spectacular gorges, good walking areas, one of Europe’s two main breeding grounds for the greater flamingo and sites of early civilisations. Further inland are the towns of Ronda split in two by a gaping gorge spanned by an 18th century bridge, and Antequera with its Baroque and Renaissance architecture.

Stay connected


Latest article

Beaches of the Axarquia

Axarquia & Malaga Beaches

The Mediterranean Costa del Sol to the east of Malaga, along southern Axarquia, is much less developed than the western Costa del Sol. The...


Each town and village in Axarquia, and surrounding Andalucia, hosts a colourful and lively street market once or twice a week. Some also have...
Malaga Walking Tour

Walking In Malaga City

Park at the underground marina car park under the port both marked on the map. Cross the road and enter the port through the...

Flamingos & Fuente de Piedra Lagoon

A must for nature lovers is Andalucia´s largest lagoon, Fuente de Piedra, a veritable haven for visitors wishing to lose themselves in the tranquillity...

Tapas in the Axarquia

Every town and village has numerous excellent tapas bars that can be found by wandering around. Here are just some. Quick Links Algarrobo Costa / Algarrobo...
Malaga Province
Malaga Province

The municipalities of Malaga Province

The municipalities of Malaga Province, as numbered on the map to the right, are listed by zone along with the major towns and villages within each.

1. Nerja
2. Algarrobo
•Canillas de Albaida
3. Torrox
•Torrox Costa
•Torrox Pueblo
4. Velez-Malaga
•Caleta de Velez
•Torre del Mar
5. Vinuela
•Canillas de Aceituno
6. Colmenar
7. Axarquia West
•El Borge
8. Rincon de la Victoria
•Rincon de la Victoria

9. Malaga

10. Archidona
•Cuevas Bajas
•Cuevas de San Marcos
•Villanueva de Algaidas
•Villanueva de Tapia
•Vallanueva del Trabuco
11. Antequera
•Valle de Abdalajis
•Villanueva del Rosario
12. Mollina
•Fuente de Piedra
13. Campillos
•Canete la Real
•Sierra de Yeguas

Zones of the Malaga Province
Zones of the Malaga Province
Municipalities of the Malaga Province
Municipalities of the Malaga Province

14. Alora
15. Alozaina
16. Cartama
17. Coin
18. Alhaurin el Grande
•Alhaurin el Grande
19. Alhaurin de la Torre
•Alhaurin de la Torre

20. Torremolinos-Benalmadena
21. Fuengirola
22. Marbella
23. Estepona

24. Algatocin
25. Benaojan
•Cortes de la Frontera
•Jimera de Libar
26. Ronda
•El Burgo
•Cuevas del Becerro